My book list for Acapulco

My baggage almost exceeeded the plane’s weight limit. 90% of it were the books that I have brought with me with the goal of reading all of them before the end of the training. I am always very optimistice regarding how many books I am able to read:-)

(1) Some light reading to start: The Street Lawyer, Middlesex, the Bonfire of Vanities and Cup of Gold (as I always wanted to be a pirate, what better than reading the biography of the greatest pirate of all-Henry Morgan)

(2) Never miss a couple of good books on evolution: The Extended Phenotype (Richard Dawkins) and The Scars of Evolution (Elaine Morgan)

(3) Something scientific to feed my inner geek: A Short Story of Nearly Everything (Bill Bryson)

(4) Something in Spanish when my English is lazy: Diccionario Filosofico (Fernando Savater) and Meditando el Management y La Vida (Jordi Nadal)

(5) My latest hollystic obsession: 4 books with the 50 classics series from Tom Butler. A summary of the top-50 books in different topics (Success, psychology, spirituality and self-help)

(6) Ideas for my Retirement Plan: 100 Great Businesses and The Minds behind Them (Emily Ross)

(7) Planning my next trip: Lonely Planet guide to Cuba

(8) And finally, some Food for the Soul: Bikram Yoga (Bikram Choudhury), Essence of Yoga (Astadala Yogamala), The Happiness Hypothesis (Jon Haidt- thanks E. for the book!) and Letters from a Stoic (Seneca)

After reviewing the list, I think I would be happy if I read a third of these books!

2 Responses to My book list for Acapulco

  1. Baha says:

    Sobre el libro “Letters from a Stoic (Seneca)” me imagino que te refieres a las “Epístolas morales a Lucilio” de Lucio Anneo Séneca. El original está escrito en latín de la edad de plata que llaman. Tengo en Madrid estas epístolas en español en dos libros de tapa dura de la editorial Gredos. Pienso que la traducción al español de Gredos debe de ser mucho mejor que cualquier traducción al inglés, aunque sólo sea porque el español no es sino la versión moderna suroccidental del latín. Esto constituye una excepción.
    A intelectuales como Séneca o Schopenhauer los caló muy bien Wilde con las palabras “haz lo que escribo, no lo que hago”, predican el ascetismo y la contemplación estética, pero se pasan la vida (mientas su cuerpo lo permite) buscando donde enchufar.

  2. Megan says:

    I am just now looking through all these posts … Middlesex and A Short History are really good! Those are the only ones I have read but I’m jealous of sitting in Mexico reading – sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

