Meeting Bikram… and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar!!!

Today, I finally met Bikram, the MAN, and he was AMAZING!! He is a very funny and interesting guy. His 3-hour talk was very impressive. This guy has taught yoga for almost 50 years and hundreds of thousands of people have passed through his “Torture Chamber” (including the last 6 presidents of the US- excluding the current one:-). And he is like 70 years-old and he is fit like hell. I wish I have his physique and energy when I am his age (hmm, forget that, I wish I had his physique right now:-)

I have some bad news for my avid readers: he forbids to take any video in class so I won’t be able to post any video of his classes. Here is a picture I took from his introduction lecture. I really was not expecting the greatest yoga guru to appear with a cap and a T-shirt but I guess that’s Bikram!

Apart from a genius, Bikram is probably the most politically incorrect guy I have ever met. His remarks and bluntness don’t have limits. I am still shocked by the feedback he gave to some of my classmates who performed part of the class dialog today (his feedback is honest, very insightful and helpful but incredibly brutal!!). I loved it but I can imagine how my American mates feel.

Today, there was also a surprise guest. Kareem Adbul-Jabbar (think Lakers!) spent the whole day with us and shared with his experiences with Bikram Yoga. Apparently, he has been practicing Bikram Yoga for 30 years and it was his secret to have one of the longest careers in the NBA (more than 20 years). Let me tell you something about Kareem… he is freaking tall!! Check this picture out.

Finally, we had in the evening our first yoga class with Bikram. It is really impressive to do yoga in the same room with 300+ people (mental note: take a picture of the “Torture Chamber”). Bikram was mildest than expected today in class (I heard that he was going to crash us). Even with that, I finished the class totally trashed so I am not sure if I am looking forward to seeing his toughest side.

I would like to write more but I need some sleep now. Tomorrow, we have our first double (two yoga classes in the same day) that is going to be the routine for the next 60 days. I will keep you posted.

6 Responses to Meeting Bikram… and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar!!!

  1. jptrigo says:

    Let me see I’ve got it right. You are in Mexico sharing some Yoga sessions with Kareem Adbul-Jabbar as devoted followers of a guy called Bikram. Sounds weird!
    I missed one dinner in Madrid and I’m completely lost.
    Enjoy your spiritual retreat!!!! Don’t forget to take some margaritas.

    Btw, if they start to talk about aliens, spaceships, donations or the end of the world, run…………..;-)

  2. Rogeman says:

    Guillermo! Your trip rocks ass! keep us posted!! 😀

  3. Alberto says:

    You are the MAN! I can’t believe it. I am really surprised. It sounds amazing. Enjoy!!!

  4. Mariam says:

    I second Alberto’s comment…very impressed!!

  5. Megan says:

    coool! Kareem Abdul-Jabbar! The mavs lost last night in the first game of the playoffs 😦 Next game on Tuesday

  6. galbizuri says:

    I am sure the Mavs will pass to the next round so they can have the honor of losing with Pau Gasol, the giant Spaniard, and the Lakers 😛

Leave a Reply

