From the Middle of The Storm…

Hey guys! This week, things are a bit crazier than last week. Posture clinic has gone up to speed and this is taking all my time, sleep and happiness 😦 [just kidding, the happiness is still there]

Physically, I am very tired and sore (as the training progresses, the classes are getting tougher and hotter). However, I just set up an appointment for a 1-hour deep-tissue massage on Sunday so I should be recovered after that;-)

Mentally, I am also tired and looking for the weekend. However, the days are long but not that intense, so I feel less mentally tired than at work.

For those who don’t know yet the mechanics of the posture clinic (it must be most of you as I haven’t explained them yet):

  • We are covering each of the 26 postures and 2 breathing exercises of the Bikram Series. For each posture, we have an initial lecture and Q&A with the senior teachers to discuss the key challenges of the posture
  • Then we are divided in 8 groups (40 people each) where each of us has to perform the dialog verbatim (word by word), teaching the posture to a group of (mock) students, in front of the group
  • Each posture has about a page of dialog that we have to learn by heart. It started taking me 4-5 hours per posture. After improving my memorizing method, now I am bringing the time down and my goal is to spend 2 hours per posture
  • Since  we are covering one posture per day at the current speed, this is bring my sleep time down (although my strategy is to advance as much as possible during the weekend so I can sleep a bit)

I am really looking forward to the weekend!!!!!

My schedule this week is pretty busy these days:

(1) Wake up at 7:15am (get up at 7:30am)

(2) 7:30am-8:15am Try unsuccesfully to study the dialog, then give up and read the newspaper online instead

(3) 8:15am-10:30am Go to Hot Room and do yoga class

(4) 10:30am-10:45am Brief swim&dive in the pool

(5) 10:45am-11:30am Lunch at Buffet

(6) 11:30am- 12:15pm Practice Dialog with classmates

(7) 12:15pm-2:15pm Anatomy Class with Doctor T (btw, my anatomy exam on Monday went well)

(8) 2:15pm-4:15pm Posture Clinic

(9) 4:15pm-5pm Preparation for afternoon Yoga Class

(10) 5pm-7pm Yoga Class in Hot Room

(11) 7pm-7:30pm Dinner: Self-made sandwich in my room

(12) 7:30pm-8:30pm Practice Dialog with classmates

(13) 8:30pm-11:30pm Posture Clinic

(14) 11:30pm-1:30am (or later) Study posture for next day and anything else

Cheers,

One Response to From the Middle of The Storm…

  1. Alex says:

    Guillermo,

    This yoga place looks more demanding than I thought, man. The amount of body control it requires seems brutal. I mean, wearing those tight swim trunks all day surrounded by girls in bikini in the Hot Room… I mean: how do you do it? You must be practicing the Dialog 24/7!
    Ha!

    Anyway, don’t sweat it…

    Alex

Leave a Reply

